About Birchwood Recreation & Shooting Park

A place for shooters to get together.

Birchwood Recreation & Shooting Park is a 501(c)7 private membership facility run by a paid staff and an elected board of directors. Established in 1964 on 72 acres, the park is Alaska’s most extensive private shooting facility. There are eight rifle and pistol ranges from 7 yards to 300 meters, several of which have lights and heaters. Shotgun ranges include 5 trap, 4 skeet, 3 Five-Stand, a sporting clays course, and international bunker trap. Trap, skeet and five-stand fields all have lights for night shooting. Ranges are available for our members from 7am – 10pm 7 days a week. The Park rents ranges to private groups and will also host your private shoot or event. Competitive shooting events are held year round and include USPSA, 3 Gun, Steel Challenge NSCA, NSSA, ATA and youth-focused groups. There is truly something for everyone at BRSP!

BRSP is located on Birchwood Spur Rd, 2.5 miles from the Glenn Highway off the North Birchwood exit, and adjacent to the Birchwood Airport.

Chartered in 1961 and opened in 1964, BRSP is Southcentral Alaska’s premier shooting facility situated on 72 acres along the Cook Inlet. The Park has 8 rifle/pistol ranges with distances ranging from 7 to 300 meters, six with lighting for night shooting. The shotgun ranges are comprised of five trap, four skeet, three Five-Stand, a 100-target Sporting Clays walk-through course, and an international bunker trap. Twelve of these fields have lights for night shooting. A walk through 3D archery course is also available. Ranges are available for our members from 7am to 10pm. The Park also rents ranges to private groups and can also host your private shoot or event.

We also offer RV camping with water and electrical hookups and tent sites for our summer event season and as a place to relax for members.

Meet Our Team

BRSP Leadership Team

Jim Stoneking

Executive Director

Susan Nevada

Operations Manager

Cory Skoog

Facility Manager

Jansen Cardy

Chief Range Safety Officer

Yvonne Hubbs

Office Manager

Your Board of Directors

Scott Henderson – President
John Barnes – Vice President
Clover McNeil – Treasurer
Justin Larkin – Secretary
Shawn Fitzpatrick – Director
Dale Andrews – Director
Cory Ercolani – Director
Dave Arieno – Director
Richard Birdsall – Director

Board meeting minutes may be viewed on the NEWS page, where they are posted when approved. There is also a binder at the front desk with all meeting minutes printed for easy review.

Board meetings are open for members to attend, and occur the third Saturday of the month following the end of each quarter (January, April, July, and October).

Shooting is for everyone.

Your search for a shooting facility with lots of ranges, variety and activity ends here. We’d love for you to come by and see what we have to offer.